RCTC Yellowjacket Football to Play for National Championship in Mississippi Bowl VIII


The Rochester Community and Technical College Yellowjackets have accepted an invitation to play Northwest Mississippi Community College for the NJCAA Division III National Championship in the Mississippi Bowl VIII.  The Yellowjackets are ranked #2 in the most recent NJCAA poll and Northwest Mississippi Community College is ranked #1.  It will be both teams’ first visit to the bowl game.  The national championship game will be played at 2 p.m. on Sunday, December 6 in Biloxi, Mississippi.

At a news conference held today announcing the bowl bid, RCTC Head Football Coach Bill Quistorff said, “RCTC Yellowjacket Football is doing something very special.  A DIII non-scholarship school has been in a National Championship only two times before and won it only one time.  We are the third time.”

When asked about what RCTC will do in the Mississippi Bowl, RCTC Assistant Head Coach Rob Neumann noted “we will bring everything we have.”

On the way to winning the Minnesota College Athletic Conference title, Rochester went undefeated and outscored opponents 589-175, an average of nearly 38 points a game. The Yellowjackets rallied from a 19-point fourth-quarter deficit to win the state championship against North Dakota State College of Science 45-41.

President Leslie McClellon shared with the student players and the coaches, “We know you’ll represent us well.  We are very proud of you.  Relish this time, and it will set you up for so many things.”

RCTC Key Wins:
Since 1920, RCTC Yellowjacket Football has won two national championships in 2000 and 2007.
Bowl Game Victories were in years 1975, 1977, 1995, 2000 and 2008.
Bowl Game Appearances were in years 1968, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1980, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, and 2014.
State Championships were in years 1969, 1975, 1976, 1978, 1980, 1993, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, and 2015.
Tickets can be purchased through the game website, MississippiBowl.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *